Phat Fiber – How Does Your Garden Grow?

I got very excited about the Phat Fiber theme for this month. Each month that I get to participate I feel like it’s a good opportunity to challenge myself to come up with a new colorway, but this month I knew exactly what I wanted to do and what colors I wanted to have. This is because I recall working on this set of colors a few years ago and I liked it so much, that I thought that this was the perfect opportunity to recreate the colors again. So, here is the top dyed on a BFL/Silk base. Oh, yes, the colorway is called PAPAYA. Well, I grew up in Yucatan, and this is a fruit that I’m very familiar with. It grows almost wild everywhere in Yucatan, and we, of course, had them in our orchard. I vividly remember the Orioles, Parrots and other tropical birds feeding off the fallen fruit. When it was in season, we had it in every single imaginable way. Fresh Papaya salad, smoothies, candied, dried, with lemon and chile, ice cream. The whole town would smell like Papaya (rotten papaya). There was no way that I could escape from consuming some. Now, I don’t have to work hard to recall the smell of it.

Papaya BFL/Silk Combed Top

These are the samples before they got to be braided. They look like cinnamon rolls to me.

Papaya samples

Papaya Samples

And here are the mini braids ready to be sent.

Sample

Samples

The contributors that signed up for this month are listed on this page, and if you would like to be notified,  follow this link here to sign up. I will have the full version available in my shop  today.

Patricia

Leave a Reply

