Natural foot prints.

This was a fun experiment. I finished this piece a few days ago, but I’ve been collecting the leaves since last summer. Lately, when I go to my friends house I observe their gardens and neighborhoods in a different way. I try to spot plants that can be used for dyeing. I just discovered a nice ginkgo tree in Point Reyes near the Creamery and I think I can get nice prints with the leaves and using iron as a mordant.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I finished my piece on time getting it submitted for an exhibition at the Bolinas Museum for their Annual Miniature Show, but I wish I had more time to let the bundles cure a little longer, and get more defined prints of the leaves onto the felted fabric. The maple leaves left a nice imprint, but surprisingly not with the eucalyptus, although I’ve been thinking that it depends of the porosity of the fabric.

I would like to try next time with cotton and see what kind of prints I can get.

In the next few days I will posting an invitation for a Christmas Holiday Party that my friends and I will be hosting here at my house. Each of them will have a booth, offering their hand-made goods for sale. I’m so excited, because my friend Sophie Webb which wrote and illustrated the book “Far From Shore”  with great reviews by the NY Times, will be join us to sell her art work, prints and books, so please, stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “Natural foot prints.

Leave a Reply

