My samples for the month of August ~ Arabian Nights

This month I decided that it was the time to show off some of my Finnish wool to the people that get the Phat Fiber sample boxes. After I packaged and sent out the 50 samples of my Arabesque color way to the PF headquarters, I had some leftover wool, and I decided to give it a try, and boy, it was a good spin.

I was surprised at how soft this wool was. Usually Finn is crossed with other breeds to increase the lambing percentage because of the hig incidence of multiple births, but going back to the spinning, I strongly felt the need to keep my Navajo Ply momentum going, so I spun a fine single to be N-Ply later on.

Since I dyed the top with long color transitions, I wanted to take advantage of this by spinning the wool without breaking it into sections, and that is where the beauty of the N-ply falls into place, it keeps those transitions even after plying the single.

Finnish wool has a nice crimp, so the yarn that it yields is soft and bouncy. This is one of those versatile fibers. While it can be perfect for socks because its durability, it also can be used for outerwear garments or even lace and it is not difficult to get those saturated colors with Finn. I just love unfolding the wool bundles after they are steamed.

Finnish sheep is one of the ancient breeds. They have been in Finland for over a thousand years. In Australia, they have been crossed with Merino to improve softness.

Well, spinning Finnish didn’t feel unfamiliar to me like spinning for example, Bamboo or Milk Protein, and the best part is, that I still have to knit my small swatch. : )

4 thoughts on “My samples for the month of August ~ Arabian Nights

Leave a Reply

