The felting bug

Well, it’s not really a bug, but a deadline… for this coming fall. I’m a bit hesitant to even write about it, because it will make it official, but  I will be having my first solo show in November at the Bolinas Gallery. The theme: so far all I can think of is that wool will be included (of course), in any form, but my mind keeps going towards felting. I’m so excited about it that I have started with a few pieces already. My goal is to be able to felt one piece a day. Ok, I have to be very realistic and some days will be impossible to do any felting at all, but I’m open to the idea that it can be changed and eventually could evolve into something different. Since I haven’t made felt for a while, my plan is to start with simple pieces before I can do anything bigger than a scarf. I want to keep it simple any way.

So far I have felted three pieces. It has been fun and educational to be able to use different materials. Among my stash I have cashmere, camel and yak. Cashmere and camel have been a delight to work with. It felts wonderful.

So, here is my first piece that is made with cashmere and silk dyed with eucalyptus:

The second piece is a neck scarf. Materials: camel, silk, cashmere and a piece of an old lace.

I made some sort of a flower. I still don’t know how it will be attached to the scarf.

And today’s piece is made with camel hair and silk chiffon dyed with walnuts, felted with two pieces of lace at each end of the scarf.

This is what I have so far… more to come (I hope). Now, I have to go back to my felting, I only have 9 months left…

6 thoughts on “The felting bug

  1. Congratulations,Patricia. I know your exhibit will be a delight.
    Your felting is amazing. I love the lace. It adds the perfect touch. Have fun felting

    Like

  2. I’m truly inspired. Your work is absolutely beautiful!

    I was given a huge garbage bag of camel wool yesterday and I am determined to make felt. I’ve spent the last 24 hours “google searching” and learning all I can about felting online – but one thing I can’t seem to figure out….do I wash and card the wool before felting? Or just wash it? (It’s quite dirty, I’ve been reading about how to wash it!) I’ve never done anything like this in my life 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Jocelyn,
      You can wash your fiber with cool water before felting. Since the camel fiber doesn’t have lanolin like sheep does, you don’t need to wash it with hot water. Good luck on your felting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

