May Day at Windrush Farm

First day of May. It was a beautiful day to be outside to celebrate fiber with friends and visitors. The day was gleaming with a beautiful sunshine.

Once again, Mimi Luebberman invited friends and fiber lovers to come to her farm and participate in her annual shearing. It was offered some fiber demonstrations during the day by Mimi and Marlie DeSwart. It was hard for me not to bid at one (or more) of the nice fleeces they have for auction. I had  booth there to sell my hand dyed goods as well my friends Marlie and Charmaine.

Charmaine’s specialty are her soft hand spun yarns richly colored with natural dyes from fennel, indigo, and onion skins. She sells her yarns at Black Mountain Artisans in Point Reyes. It was also a section at the fair where people could learn spinning with spindles made with discarded CDs. Susan and Laura from Spindles and Flyers set up a space and invite people to try spinning. At one point I remember seen a whole family engaged in their spinning.

Susan brought with her a huge basket filled with mini batts of different colors and textures.

I couldn’t resist to give a try myself. I spent most of the day with my CD spindle.

Of course we also had delicious pizzas and handcrafted bread made by Mike the Baker from Sonoma.

Marlie’s handspun

Fiber Auction


Leave a Reply

