Oaxaca and Chiapas here I come!!!!

I won’t be posting for about a month. Tomorrow morning I’m getting up at about 3:15 am so we can get to the SF airport at around 5:30. Keith and I are flying to Oaxaca. Keith is leading a birding trip and me, well, I will be doing cool things like visiting weavers in some of the villages around the city. I hope I have the time to visit markets and museums. Rufino Tamayo, one of my favorite  painters was born there and I’m planning to visit a museum named after him which is actually a museum of his collection of prehispanic art.

When the tour is over, Keith and I we will meet some friends in San Cristobal de las Casas in Chiapas and go to Palenque from there. We will be visiting the Lacandon Forest and ancient mayan ruins like Yaxchilan and Bonampak. I will come back with lots of pictures and stories about my trip. So, see you in March!!

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.”

~Henry Miller

One thought on “Oaxaca and Chiapas here I come!!!!

Leave a Reply

