February Phat Fiber Theme: Master Painters

I knew I had to work with Frida Kahlo’s palette. I had visited her Casa Azul in Mexico City a few years ago. The place is converted into a museum and filled with her personal belongings and walls painted in cobalt blue. Frida Kahlo was born in that  same house and lived with husband Diego Rivera. So, I decided to work with Milk Protein Fiber because it takes the dyes so intensely…like Frida’s paintings…

And here are my fibers ready to be sent to the Phat Fiber’s headquarters. Do you want to know when the box samples goes on sale? Go here: http://phatfiber.com/notifyme.htm.

I’m hoping I can have the time to work with the real size roving very soon. It has been raining a lot and everything gets too long to get dry. Meanwhile I was able to work on some carded batts and post them in my Etsy shop.

This is Springtime. Blend of merino, silk, angelina, milk protein fiber and more fun stuff. I think I’m starting to get tired of foggy days and wet days, I need color!

This is Prenup. Or should I have called it “Worst case scenario”? Blue Face Leicester with Milk Protein Fiber, angelina, merino. Fun stuff…

Facemask. Merino, Firestar, Angelina.

Still Life. Another wonderful blend of Merino, but this time a add some Masham which is a crossbreed between Teeswater sheep and Dalesbred.

” I tried to drown my sorrows, but the bastards learned how to swim, and now I am overwhelmed by this decent and good feeling.”

~ Frida Kahlo


2 thoughts on “February Phat Fiber Theme: Master Painters

  1. Hi Patricia,
    Your fibers are beautiful. I can’t decide which I like the most. They are all lovely.
    Did you see the movie about Frida that came out a few years ago? I didn’t see it but understand that it was a very good movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

