Perfect day

Last Wednesday was what I would call the perfect day. The weather was warm, and beautiful. The perfect Indian summer. A good amount of roving was dyed and hopefully it will dry in no time. It seems that after the Fiber Fest at Mimi’s farm, things are getting into place again, but sloooooow. I even have the time to meet with my friends for a couple hours and celebrate the birthday of one of them. I finished spinning some mohair that I got from WC Mercantile which I dyed with blues and terracottas. 8 ounces of mohair delight to be more exact. It reminds me of the color of the bluebirds on summer time.

Blue Bird

After I dyed the fiber I wasn’t sure about the color, but as I start spinning it I really liked how the different colors intermingled in between. I’m a slow spinner, slow knitter, slow at getting jokes.  Is OK. I can’t rush it. Spinning has help me to get to know myself a little bit better. Now, I know that I need to get into the groove.  I remember my grandmother “chichi Lola” used to tell me quite often that in order to get things faster I had to slow down. Rushing things out would led me to make silly mistakes just to get the feeling that things where happening faster. Now, I know that my clumsiness won’t let me do things as faster as I would like to. Isn’t a quote that says whoever laughs last laughs best?

Corespun

This was a fun yarn to spun. I put bits and pieces of mohair, Angelina, and sequins. It is actually more glittery than appears in the picture, but I haven’t been able to figure out how to make make my camera to  capture the sparkles. This is the best picture I was able to get of this skein. And I’m determined to do it!

Keep love in your heart. A life without it is like a sunless garden when the flowers are dead. The consciousness of loving and being loved brings a warmth and richness to life that nothing else can bring. ~

Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

