The Omo People

Wow! I had to post this video. The human creativity is just endless and amazing.  And what a lovely way of manifesting it. It brings me memories of my travels to the Panama border with Colombia several years ago, in a small gap called the Darien where I visited the Wounnan tribe. The Darien gap is so thick that is literally impossible to cross it over.  I know of several failed expeditions because the place is extremely dangerous;  there are not trails, lots of swamps,  guerrillas, drug traffickers, kidnappers, and not to mention the dangerous snakes among other dangers. Keith and I thought that if we ever got kidnap there, at least we knew that 95% of the kidnapped people usually get released safely! We got there by boat, and as soon as we got to land, we got to be welcomed by beautiful striking people. The first thing to notice is how they paint their bodies. They use the Tagua fruit that produces a black juice that stains, and the indians use them to make elaborated tatoos on their bodies. They also like to use flowers to make headdresses. The children usually have tattoos with lizards, birds and snakes. We got out of the place safe, and the experience was incredible. The jungle was so luscious and wonderful and Keith got to see the bird that he wanted to see.

I’m very inspired by this video. I hope my wool arrives today, because I can’t wait to get back to my dye pots!

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
A wise man does not need advice and a fool won’t take it.

2 thoughts on “The Omo People

  1. Patricia, I just bought some merino bamboo roving from you on etsy and was so impressed with your color work, I had to see your blog….and found this video. This is oneof the most beautiful things I have EVER seen! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

