Le Tour de Fleece 09

This is day 10th already and although I have manage to spin almost every day, posts haven’t been made for this matter. Summer seems to be a bit hectic, as the days gets warmer (finally) everybody wants to go out! (including me). Sweet and sour margaritas have been the drink of choice but reds have been very welcomed too. I’m still waiting for the perfect hot weather to be completely fulfilled as the fog has been refusing to leave town. Enough of bla, bla, bla… I want to show what I have done so far. Finally some of the Yak (yes… THE YAK) has been spun into a double plyed yarn. I managed to spin two skeins! 140 yards for skein number one and 148 yards for skein number two.

Yak

I’m a little disappointed that even though the downy fiber is very soft, the finished yarn is not particularly soft. I was wondering if I’m over spinning my singles or what. The yarn is not prickly at all, but is not squishy as my expectation was. I would love to hear comments about it… Because I would like to know what I’m doing wrong…

Corridale

This is corridale plyed with a peachy silk thread. 76 yards. This is a lovely fiber to spin with. I have another version where I core spun the fiber and then plyed with the same thread as above. The finished yarn has a nice shine. 160 yards

Core spun then plyed with silk yarn

Mohair

I like this yarn a lot, because the color and how soft it is. This fiber was purchased from Dyeing of colour. I got 102 yarn for 2 ounces of this lovely fiber.

Local Mohair

This is mohair from a local source. I called this the Evil Monster. Spun on the lock. 52 yards…

Total amount of yarn spun so far (counting the 2 plyed yak as the finished skein):  678 yards!!! I would love to hear how many yards have you spun so far…

P.S. I still have more Yak to spin. More than 1/2 of the pound… The bag is half full.

Whatever accomplishment you boast of in the world, there is someone better than you.

African proverb

4 thoughts on “Le Tour de Fleece 09

  1. I really like the peach corriedale! What are you going to make with it?
    I’m sorry, I can’t help with your yak question. Maybe spinning woolen instead of worsted? Have you washed it? That usually softens my handspun right up.
    Good luck!

    Like

  2. i find to keep the yarns soft when plied – make sure you spin it on a slow ratio – then ply it on the same ratio that you spun it on – im finding out more and more about my suzie as i use it – and more and more about what yarns will turn out like if not spun on the correct rations for the type of fleece too.

    hope this helps

    Like

    • I starting to understand my suzie too. Your suggestion makes a lot of sense. Of course! Low ratio. I did the opposite. high ratio because I thought… Oh well, I still have a lot of fibre to play with… Thanks!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

