Play day

A few days ago, I decided to visit Judy in Sebastopol, who raise angora goats. I wanted to buy about 5 pounds of washed mohair that I needed for a project I have in mind. I called my friend Charmaine, to see if she needs some and Charmaine called Marlie of Black Mountain Weavers in Point Reyes, Marlie called Mimi Luebbermann of Chileno Valley. Any way, the four of us decided to go on Thursday mornig. Mimi has a beautiful farm in Chileno Valley and is such a joy to visit her and be around her goats, chickens and wool.

goat

Beautiful wisteria in bloom

Wisteria in bloom

I always drool at her wool beautifully displayed in her barn.

wool

So then we headed towards Sebastopol to see Judy. To get “some” wool. When we got there, Judy took us to her barn where she stores bags full of fleece. We literally had to dive into those bags, and we did find  lots of wonderful  fleeces. Well, to make the story short, we ended up with 45 pounds of raw fleece! YIKES! It was hard to make up our minds,  about what to take back with us.Raw fleece

So, we took it all!

This is Marlie that cannot hide her joy after shopping.

Marlie

And a little happy goat

Mohar goat

Did I get my mohair? No, but I think I will go again for some!  He, he, he. These kind of trips can be dangerous sometimes.

One thought on “Play day

Leave a Reply

