Solar dyeing

I know it has been a while since I posted something. I really don’t know where the time goes, but it really goes fast, and when I get one or two days for myself it such a joy that I can’t wait to start my day. I just love going  to my studio and “work” on my fibers.  Lately, I’ve been experimenting with solar dyeing  and I’m loving it.New solar dyed sock yarn

One of the reasons I decided to try the solar dyeing technique is because I want to be more conscientious on the way I use our resources. I’m deeply  concern about the future of our environment and I want to put my little grain of sand too. I’ve been really pleased with the results, the colors are bright, it minimizes manipulation of the fiber since there is no need on keep turning them (less risk of the fiber to felt), I have more time to do other things like spinning, carding my fibers, etc. Yes, it takes more time to set the dye, but is very satisfactory to know that I don’t have the need to use any fuel or electricity thus it minimizes my carbon footprint in this little place we call mother earth. One of the nice things about working with the acid dyes is that the dye exhausts so beautifully that the use of water is really minimal.

The whole process is really similar to regular dyeing, the only difference is that I left my fiber under the sun the whole day to let the sunshine to do its job.

Here are some links about solar ovens. They can be make even with pizza boxes. Take a look:

Solarcooking.org/plans

www.solarovens.org

Leave a Reply

